Monstrosity – Spiritual Apocalypse - 2007

Monstrosity – Spiritual Apocalypse - 2007

In the 1990s Monstrosity were always regarded as one of the ‘also rans’ of the Florida scene. They were the farm team that gave Cannibal Corpse George Fisher, and while releasing some solid albums, they were rarely held in the same regard as their contemporaries. By the 2000s the only remaining member from those early days was drummer Lee Harrison, but with Spiritual Apocalypse he surrounded himself with a very capable new cast of characters who helped him hit a bases loaded home run. Spiritual Apocalypse is quite a progressive, technical, and forward thinking album, but it still retains some of the more ruthless elements of earlier releases like Imperial Doom. The songwriting, layering, and sense of melody here are impeccable, making repeated listens a rewarding experience as new soundscapes are revealed to the careful listener. It took another 11 years for the equally brilliant The Passage of Existence to see the light of day, but the release of Spiritual Apocalypse made it clear that Monstrosity earned their rightful place among the Death Metal elite.


1. Spiritual Apocalypse 
2. Firestorm 
3. Apostles of the Endless Night 
4. Within Divisions of Darkness 
5. The Inhuman Race 
6. Remnants of Divination 
7. Illumination 
8. Sacred Oblivion 
9. The Bloodline Horror 
10. Triumph in Black

Previous entries:

2006 - Deicide
2005 - Bolt Thrower
2004 - Bloodbath
2003 - Edge Of Sanity
2002 - Kataklysm
2001 - Opeth
2000 - Nile
1999 - God Dethroned
1998 - Gorguts
1997 - Entombed
1996 - Cryptopsy
1995 - Suffocation
1994 - Cannibal Corpse
1993 - Cynic
1992 - Napalm Death
1991 - Dismember
1990 - Obituary
1989 - Morbid Angel
1988 - Death
1987 - Slaughter
1986 - Sepultura
1985 - Possessed
35 Years of Death Metal!

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published